WANA Friday: Reading

I’m combining two blog memes today.

First, there’s #WANAFriday, where a group of bloggers post on the same topic and share links to facilitate blog-hopping to read everyone’s takes on the subject. This week’s assignment is:

Take this first line from Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani and run with it: “This will be a good weekend for reading.”

Second, there’s WWW Wednesday, stolen from Erin Zarro (okay, it’s not Wednesday, but I’m stealing it anyway). The meme consists of three questions about what you’re reading. So here we go…

1) What book (s) are you reading right now?

I’m reading a fantasy novel called A Companion to Wolves by Sarah Monette and Elizabeth Bear. I’ll have to do a proper review later, but for now I’ll just say that this is, hands-down, the best novel I’ve read this year. In fact, I just finished it last week…but I loved it so much that I started over at the beginning. I’m halfway through the second read.

(Fun fact: The only other book I’ve done that with, at least in recent years, is Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go.)

2) What book (s) have you finished recently?

Besides A Companion to Wolves? *grins*

  • Airborn by Kenneth Oppel. YA steampunk adventure story featuring an airship cabin boy, a girl scientist, and air pirates. You might recognize the author — he’s better known for Silverwing.
  • Specials by Scott Westerfeld. The third book in Westerfeld’s Uglies series (YA SF), and a most satisfying installment. More about that here.
  • The Steel Seraglio by Mike Carey, Linda Carey, and Louise Carey. A multi-stranded, lyrically written fantasy story about a harem of women exiled to the desert.

3) What books will you be reading soon?

I’ve got about 30 books on my TBR shelf (well, two of them are ebooks), but here are a few of the most likely candidates for “next up”:

    • Darwin’s Radio by Greg Bear (SF)
    • A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (YA fantasy)
    • Cetaganda by Lois Mcmaster Bujold (SF — Vorkosigan Saga)
    • Mainspring by Jay Lake (steampunk)

(My shelf also has plenty of adult fantasy, but I like to mix it up, and since I’m reading fantasy right now, some other subgenre will get its turn next. Probably.)

Chances are pretty good you’ll hear about one or more of these on the blog.

Other WANA Friday participants this week:

Ellen Gregory

Kim Griffin

Janice Heck

ETA: Cora Ramos

Your turn! What are you reading?

Happy Friday, and I’ll see you back here on Monday!

14 responses to “WANA Friday: Reading

  1. Awesome! I can’t wait to read A Companion to Wolves.

  2. Erin, after all my babbling about it, I really hope you like it! 😉

  3. I’m pretty sure I will. 😉

  4. Wow – that’s saying something… will add A Companion to Wolves to my TBR list… which is so stupidly long it’s not funny. Not getting through books very fast at the moment.

  5. Pingback: On a writing (not reading) retreat | Ellen Gregory

  6. Ellen, I hear you. I keep thinking I need a way to sort through all the “this sounds good” books on my TBR list and keep only the “this sounds AMAZING” books so I have half a chance of reading at least those ones in this lifetime, but I haven’t managed it yet. Every time I try to thin down the list, I talk myself out of deleting any of it….

  7. I’m slowly working my way through “The Book of Cthulhu,” which is a collection of modern authors doing their take on Lovecraftian horror. I’ve also been reading the rulebook for a pen-and-paper roleplaying game called RuneQuest, and I’m flirting with the idea of running a game set in a fantasy world I’ve been conceiving for some fiction in the near future.

  8. Am I allowed to join this Friday thing?

  9. Pingback: Rainy Days | Kim Griffin's Blog

  10. I’m finishing up World War Z, while reading Dance the Dream Awake by Cora Ramos, The War of the Worlds and Tales From the Mist with Rhonda Hopkins in it.

    I will add A Companion to Wolves to my list 🙂

  11. Mike, I think Elizabeth Bear has a story in that. Are you liking the anthology?

    Dianna, absolutely — the more, the merrier! Each week’s prompt is different. The prompt gets tweeted under the hashtag #wanafriday a few days beforehand (in theory…let me know off Twitter if that’s not happening, and I’ll send you the prompt), and you can also use the same hashtag to tweet your own posts if you’re so inclined.

    Kim, wow! I can’t read multiple books at once, unless one is non-fiction or short stories, so I’m fascinated by those who can. How do you decide which one to pick up?

  12. Pingback: Reading Time? Ha, Ha. - Cora J Ramos, Author

  13. Pingback: Reading Time? Ha, Ha. - Cora J Ramos, Author

  14. Pingback: Rainy Days - Kim Russell's Blog

Leave a Reply

