All Hallows Read

Halloween is coming up again, and that means it’s time for All Hallows Read!

raven_all_hallows_read_poster_by_blablover5-d7xwiid

But what is it, you ask? Here’s Neil Gaiman to explain:

I have a few suggestions for scary books to share. For starters, I’m finally getting around to reading The Passage by Justin Cronin. It’s not terribly horror-ish (actually a plus for squeamish readers like me) but it’s about a vampire apocalypse, which surely counts as Halloween-appropriate. Be prepared: it is looong, and something happens a third of the way through (end of Act I? Why yes…) that turns off some readers. But I kept going, and I’m glad I did. It’s really well-written. I may have to go an apocalyptic literature kick now…

Cover of The Passage by Justin Cronin

Where was I? Ah yes, scary book suggestions.

As I said, I’m a lightweight when it comes to horror, but here are a few authors/books who creep me out without keeping me awake for the rest of the month:

  • C.J. Cherryh – Rider at the Gate / Cloud’s Rider
  • China Miéville (discussed on the blog here and here)
  • Halli Villegas – The Hair Wreath and Other Stories (reviewed here)
  • Peter Watts – Blindsight (and hey, there’s a sequel out now, Echopraxia!)

I’ve also written a horror-lite short story myself, which you can read for free at Turtleduck Press: The Dangers of Creation; or, A Machine to Rival Man. (It’s not the only horror-leaning story among our freebies, either.)

Here’s a post on YA Gothics from last year, and another about women in Gothic novels. There’s lots more over at the All Hallows Read website. But now…

Over to you! What scary books would you recommend?

2 responses to “All Hallows Read

  1. I’m not much for horror, either (and am probably in the group of people who gave up on The Passage at the 1/3 mark), but an editor – Simon Dewar – asked me to read & review his anthology “Suspended in Dusk”, and while I’m only about halfway through, it’s really pretty good. At least one of the stories so far I had to skip through because it was too creepy, but they’re all well written and unsettling without freaking me out.

  2. Oooh, horror for squeamish types, I like it. Thanks for the rec! *adds to TBR list* *list explodes* …oops?

Leave a Reply

