Hospitals and Housekeeping

So…when I wrote last week that life was eating me?

Turns out that was nothing. Here’s what happened next…

Hospitals

So I spent two days this week with a loved one in hospital in Montreal, Quebec. That was scary for a while, but the scary part is over now (knock wood) and I’m slowly coming down from all that stress.

What I’m starting to remember now are the little things that happened while I was focused on my own loved one’s story.

The way the first-responder firefighters switched into French to debrief the paramedics.

The way the gurney’s legs retracted as the bed platform slid into the ambulance.

The first intake guy at the hospital, who also talked with the paramedics in fluent French (while I, despite being non-fluent, tried to eavesdrop and read the medical notes he was making on the computer — in French)…and then came over to us and said, in a clearly non-francophone accent, “How you doin’, mate?” So completely unexpected that it almost made me laugh.

(Read the rest here.)

So that was my Friday through Monday. Oy vey.

ROW80

In other news, here’s a ROW80 check-in:

Writing

The good news is I spent more than 3 hours last week working on my short story WIP. The bad news is that I’m overdue for a deadline at the indie press I belong to (Turtleduck Press) and the edit is going sloooowly. So, pressing on…

Exercise

Umm…Unless you count doing a ton of dishes for the loved one mentioned above…nada. Oh, except I climbed 19 flights of stairs today. Onward!

Renovations

Indoors renos are done, at least for this year! We’ve moved on to getting some basic cosmetic improvements for the yards, front and back. They’re all aimed at making our property look less, um, ghetto. So far:

  • removed chain-link fencing in front yard and some in backyard
  • took out rosebushes that only bloomed three weeks a year and were tied to rusty metal frames (okay, that happened a few weeks ago)
  • removed chicken wire (?!) on top of back fence
  • got rid of decrepit old shed
  • started building a deck

I have to admit that we’re not exactly DIYers and are not doing any of this ourselves. But we will be doing most (all?) of the planting and all of the gardening.

Housekeeping

Finally, a housekeeping note. I know posting has been sporadic around here, and it’s about to get more sporadic — temporarily, I hope. Starting at the middle of next week, I’ll be offline for two weeks. Don’t expect any new blogging until the very end of May. Then I’ll be back with more posts on travel, adventures in homeownership, women in SF and fantasy, books, movies, and all the other good stuff that (I hope) you’ve come to expect.

In the meantime, feel free to hang out, chat, browse the archives, and party!

 

2 responses to “Hospitals and Housekeeping

  1. Have a good hiatus from everything. Sounds like you’re on the right track.

Leave a Reply

