Looking Back on 2013, and ROW80 Check-In

Okay, I’m a bit late, but hey, it’s still January!

Last week I wrote about my desire to make more space for writing. During the past year, I’ve been busy doing other things. Since I want to be a writer when I grow up (note to self: that would be now!), my focus needs to change this year.

(ROW80 folks: check-in is at the bottom of the post.)

I am aiming to do better. But because I tend to beat myself up, I still want to celebrate my accomplishments from the past year…

Non-Writing

Bukit Bintang street food market, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Bukit Bintang street food market, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

2013 was, of course, the year of the Grand Adventure in Asia. My travel partner and I spent three months exploring Malaysia, Thailand, India (for six weeks!), and Nepal. The trip was exhausting, exhilarating, and everything in between. It wasn’t the first extended trip I’ve taken, and I hope it won’t be the last.

In slightly less earth-shattering events, other 2013 accomplishments included:

  • road-tripping through the Canadian Rockies and back
  • starting a vegetable garden (I’m now a year and a half into home-ownership)
  • getting into photography (having a good camera and lots of new locations will do that to you)
  • knitting my second pair of socks (do you know how much knitting goes into a pair of socks? Hint: it’s a lot)

Writing

Best of Turtleduck Press, Vol. 1

While the above kept me pretty busy, I did manage a little bit of writing:

That’s not bad given all that was going on, but like I said, I intend to do better this year.

On that note…

ROW80 Check-In

My weekly goal for ROW80 is 5 hours of writing or editing.

For Week 1, I hit:

  • 2 hours of drafting and editing “Still Waters, Part 4”
  • somewhere between 0.5 and 1 hour of prepping novel chapters to send around to my critique group

…so somewhere around 2.5 or 3 hours in total, well short of my goal

For Week 2, I’m at 1 hour so far (drafting “Still Waters, Part 5”). Clearly I need to step up my game.

I work full-time, I had a busy weekend (in a good way, but still), and my house is being renovated (mid-size renovations rather than major ones, thank goodness). But that’s still just excuses.

Writing Productivity Tools

On the plus side, when ROW80 started, I finally got around to setting up LeechBlock, a Firefox add-on that lets you block whatever websites you want, whenever you want. I’ve got it set up to block, between 9 and 10 PM (prime writing time for me), all the websites that are the worst distractions for me. Wikipedia is not one of them, so I can still go online to do some quick research — I’m pretty good at not getting distracted if I’m in the middle of writing and just need to look up something specific.

If that’s not enough, I also have a program called Freedom, which actually disables my computer’s Internet for a set period of time. The drawback of Freedom is that you can’t pre-set it like you can with LeechBlock — you need to have the willpower to turn it on manually. In fact, you can pre-set LeechBlock to block everything…I just haven’t gotten up the nerve yet.

Four more hours in Week 2. I can do this. Onward!

Your turn! How are your goals and resolutions for 2014 going so far?

2 responses to “Looking Back on 2013, and ROW80 Check-In

  1. So glad my sponsorship responsibilities brought me back here. I may just have to check out your travel blogs. I, too, enjoy photography but have never been anywhere as exotic.

    All the best with your writing and editing, as well as all your other goals for 2014.

    Have a great remainder of the week.

  2. Thanks for the support and cheerleading, Steph! I think photography is about learning to see…which can be easier to do when we’re out of our routine, but is certainly doable in everyday life as well. It just takes a little more work to be present. Hope you enjoy the travel blogs if you get a chance!

Leave a Reply

