WANA Friday: Childhood Home

Welcome to another edition of WANA Saturday, er, Friday, where you’re invited to join us in blogging on a common topic and going on a blog-hop to read everyone’s takes.

This week’s prompt is:

Tatiana de Rosnay has written a book called The House I Loved about Rose Bazelet in France in the 1860s when her house was to be destroyed in the reconstruction of Paris into a modern city. This book made me think of the houses that I have lived in and loved. What house, or place, have you lived in that you loved? Tell us about it.

I grew up in suburbia, so I can’t say I loved my childhood house exactly. Yes, it was home, but my heart belongs to old houses, like my grandmother’s house in Vancouver or the house I’m lucky enough to live in now.

And I don’t miss the suburban lifestyle — my current home has a good balance of public transit accessibility, nearby amenities, and backyard and other green space.

But I did move across Canada when I left home.

I miss Alberta.

(If you’re not Canadian, think “American midwest” and you won’t be far off.)

The Rocky Mountains west of Calgary, Alberta.

The Rocky Mountains west of Calgary, Alberta.

I miss the huge prairie skies, with their ever-changing clouds, their pure deep blue, and their spectacular sunsets.

I miss the fields of wheat and oat and barley, the sparse rows of trees set up as windbreaks, the big red barns all made in a particular style.

I miss the Rocky Mountains — but that’s a post for another day.

I even miss winter. Sure, it’s longer and colder and darker than winter in Toronto, where I live now. But it’s a lot sunnier — in fact, the colder it is, the more likely it is to be sunny. It’s drier and less windy. And the snow stays crisp and frozen, rather than turning into ankle-deep slush that must be waded through. Don’t get me wrong, I am not a fan of the -30 C weather Alberta gets in the winter, but I really hate slush.

When I was growing up in Alberta, we used to pretend we were Arctic explorers (thank you, Arthur Ransome). We built forts and made snow paths with our toboggans (one benefit of having a big suburban backyard!) and slid down hills and went cross-country skiing and skating outdoors and climbed snow mountains. Even shovelling was fun…for a while!

Other WANA Friday participants this week

Janice Heck shares memories of her childhood home

Your turn! If you’ve moved from one climate to another, what do you miss?

4 responses to “WANA Friday: Childhood Home

  1. I moved from Wisconsin this summer to a small town in Delaware. I miss some things about Madison (definitely the people) but I don’t think I’ll miss the winter.

  2. I miss snow. I didn’t grow up with it, but during the time I lived in Wisconsin, I really got to love it, although I might have formed a different opinion if I had owned a house and had to shovel the driveway 😉

  3. Ken, I hope you enjoy the gentler winter where you are now! One thing I noticed when I moved away was that as soon as September hit, I started thinking about winter being imminent, even though it wasn’t anymore. In Alberta we always get cold weather and snow before Halloween; here autumn lasts through the end of October. I prefer it this way, but it did take some adjusting.

    Mike, I honestly didn’t mind shovelling most of the time. The exercise felt good, and the results were gratifyingly easy to see. Of course, if it snowed several days in a row or got really cold, then I enjoyed it much less!

  4. Pingback: #WANAFriday: Childhood Homes | JaniceHeck

Leave a Reply

