Your Turn: Favourite Summer Movie

Hi, all! I’m back from my blog hiatus (and vacation) and, as usual, scrambling to catch up with real life. So today I’m turning the blog over to you, my faithful readers. My question:

What was your favourite movie this summer?

I’m thinking blockbusters, but if you saw something else in theatres that you really loved (quiet little drama? foreign film?), do tell.

Mine? A toss-up between Star Trek Into Darkness and Pacific Rim, despite things I found problematic about both (click through to read my reviews).

Have at it, and I’ll see you back here with some real content on Wednesday!

8 responses to “Your Turn: Favourite Summer Movie

  1. I haven’t seen many movies recently. But I did see Star Trek: Into Darkness and The Conjuring. Rather liked both!

  2. I liked The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie. I read and liked the books, and almost didn’t see the movie after hearing what some avid fans of the series said about the movie. But I thought they did a good job with translating the story to film, a totally different medium. It’s not *exactly* like the book, but a watercolor painting won’t be exactly like an oil painting of the same subject matter either.

  3. Thanks for weighing in, Ellen and Elizabeth! I saw The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones as well, and liked it better than I expected to. Haven’t read the books, though…what were the biggest differences for you?

  4. The biggest differences between the Mortal Instruments book and movie has to do with *when* things happen in the story. This was the biggest complaint I heard from those who loved the books, but I think it did the story justice on the screen. One reveal in particular was pulled forward from a later book in the series, and I think it punched up the tension, giving us greater insight into the antagonist.

  5. Ah, interesting. I remember a similar case: being surprised when I read the graphic novel of V for Vendetta after seeing the movie…events had been rearranged pretty dramatically. As with your experience, I think the changes served to give the film a bigger punch.

  6. I just saw We’re the Millers last night. Look for a post (hopefully not spoilery) coming to my blog about it!

  7. Will do, Di! Looking forward to it.

  8. http://www.moredibell.com/blog/2013/09/monkey-wrench-vs-immediate-patch-up/ I’ve tried not to spoil the movie, and only talk about the writing method, but be warned of spoilers.

Leave a Reply

