The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Mortal Instruments: City of Bones posterJust a quick post today, because it’s Labour Day (Labor Day for you Americans), and that means holiday!

I went to see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones a few days ago. To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much — I haven’t read the books, but the trailer looked pretty generic, and the Rotten Tomatoes rating was all of 12% — but I was in the mood for something light and fantasy-ish.

And I was pleasantly surprised.

Sure, the plot elements and tropes are pretty standard. But they’re well done. Ordinary girl with ordinary life discovers that not only is there a secret world full of danger and magic right in her own city, but she’s not so ordinary after all. If this is your kind of story, you’ll like it, even if you’ve seen it before. The entry into the secret world is exciting, the stakes high (protagonist Clary’s mother is missing), the magical elements a nice blend of horror and wonder, the plot tight and coherent.

My main criticism is of the love triangle between Clary and two boys, one from the ordinary world and one from the magical world. I object not because it’s a love triangle, but because of all the angst surrounding it…including from the magical Shadowhunter, Jayce, who lives to fight demons and should therefore have better things to think about than whether Clary likes him.

Your turn! What did you think of the movie? If you’ve read the book, how does the movie compare?

13 responses to “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

  1. I read the books. Considering the audience and age of the characters, I believe the love/lust thoughts were unavoidable.

  2. Hmm. I’m okay with the existence of a love triangle and conflict resulting from it. It just came across as so angsty…but then, I’m not the target age either!

  3. I haven’t read the books either. The previews caught my eye so I appreciate your comments. I’m looking forward to the movie.

  4. Jodenton, I’m glad my post was helpful…hope you enjoy the movie!

  5. Pingback: Stories I’m Writing #35: Kaylen | The Write Stuff

  6. Pingback: Stories I’m Writing #46: Divine | The Write Stuff

  7. I won’t read the books or see the movie because of the author’s history of plagiarism and her HORRIFIC bullying of people who’ve called her out for it online. I’m on a work computer at the mo so can’t dig up links, but Google the author’s name + plagiarism and you should find a boatload of… interesting… reasons not to support her.

  8. dragonwrites, I’m aware of her fanfic history. That’s a big part of why I’ve chosen not to read the books. And…yeah, I should have thought about that before I decided to see the movie. Lapse of judgement, I guess. Plus I may have been reading a lot about female characters in SFF and wanted to support a film with a girl in the starring role.

  9. Sorry! I didn’t mean to sound critical or judgmental of your choice. Just wanted to make sure you were aware of the situation. 🙂

  10. Thanks…I definitely would have wanted to know if I didn’t already!

  11. Pingback: Strange Things Happen at Bone Academy (trailer) | The Fantasy Central Channel

  12. I echo dragonwrites. I hadn’t heard about the bullying part, but… even more reason now.

    I think the saddest thing is that what she did is not unheard of, in fanfiction–I’ve read many fics that paid tribute to things… but they acknowledged it. They didn’t try to hide it. And if she had been open and honest… well, no one would care now. But because of her past history… I don’t feel like reading the books and going “oh, I know that line from Animorphs, and that line from Nancy Drew, and this scene is gender reversed from Star Trek”. Maybe she didn’t do anything like that for a published book; I haven’t read them.

    And I never will.

  13. Interesting, Di. I’m not much of a fanfic reader, so that’s news to me (though not surprising…fanfic is all about paying tribute, after all). Thanks for your take!

Leave a Reply

