My Mother, the Book Enabler

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mothers out there!

Right now, I’m on vacation, getting to spend Mother’s Day with my mom for the first time in many years. So in her honour, we’re talking about mothers and reading.

Both my parents valued reading — it was my father who told us bedtime stories about Middle Earth. But it was my mother who took us to the library and let us lug home literally as many books as we could carry (and a determined preteen bookworm can heft a lot of books, even if she doesn’t look that strong!). And it was she who hunted down her childhood favourites to share with me and my siblings.

Thanks to her, I read so many British children’s classics that I started talking like an old-fashioned English schoolchild (ironic, since we were homeschooling).

If you asked her, she wouldn’t claim to be responsible for my love of any particular book. But she certainly facilitated or introduced me to:

…all books that she loved first. And many more, of course, but I’ll leave it at that for now.

Thanks, Mom!

How did your mother influence your reading? If you are a mother, what books do you and your kids both love?

9 responses to “My Mother, the Book Enabler

  1. Sounds like our preteen bookworm selves would have been friends! What a neat tribute to your mom–I relate to this post a lot ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thank you, Alina! I’m glad my post touched a chord with you.

  3. Me too! Me too! One summer in North Carolina, I think I read every book in the Children’s section of our library. Except for the books by Arthur Ransome (who I haven’t read) I loved everything on your list.
    Lovely post!

  4. Thank you, Liv! Nice to find kindred reader spirits. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. What great childhood memories. One of my fondest memories as a child was going to my town’s tiny library and bringing home a pile of books. The library in the city I live in now is bigger, but no less fascinating. It always feels a bit like coming home when I go there.

  6. Yes, I think that could be the role of a mother! I remember mine introducing me to Anne of Green Gables… and I pronounced it boring (because the first chapter is a bit slow) and she told me I had to read the first 100 pages, and then I could put it down if I wanted. Of course, by then I was totally hooked.

    My mother also facilitated me swapping Trixie Beldon and Polyanna books with the daughter of a friend of hers. I never met this girl until many years later when we were at university together — and now we’re good friends!

    I didn’t own many books as a child. I mainly borrowed from the library as my mother’s insistence — I was such a voracious reader, no doubt this was an economical decision!

  7. Tami, libraries (and bookstores) feel like coming home to me, too. Early impressions stay strong, I guess!

    Ellen, I remember being bored by The Hobbit the first time I tried it, but loving it a few years later. Just had to be the right age. And yes, my mother, like yours, couldn’t have kept up with the number of books we went through, if not for the library!

  8. Pingback: Dragonflight / Dragonquest (Pern (Chronological Order)) | Peter J Verdil

Leave a Reply

