Blogiversary the First, Part Two

Last week I shared the top five posts from the first year of the blog. The next five were an interesting bunch as well, so I’m sharing them this week. Numbers 1-5 are those with broad appeal, posts you might happen upon by googling a popular topic. But numbers 6-10 include some that are much more personal. I’m glad they’ve connected with people.

Here, without further ado, are the runners-up from the blog’s first year.

  • Book Nostalgia: Trixie Belden. When I wrote this, I wasn’t sure if Trixie Belden would be too obscure. In fact, the opposite turned out to be true — Trixie-lovers keep popping up to comment, and I’ve been introduced to a whole Internet community that I didn’t know existed.

  • Lessons From My Father. This was a very personal post, an ode to my late father and the changes he faced over the course of his life. But it also connected with a lot of people, including (but not limited to) those in my extended family who remembered him with love.
  • Memory Lane: Learning to Swim. In this post, I set out to capture a specific portion of my childhood with as many details as I could. It’s a short piece, but apparently an evocative one.
  • A Love Letter to Our Future House. We bought a house last year. I fell in love with it as soon as we climbed the stairs to the second floor. My expression of that love obviously struck a chord with others as well.
  • Women in A Game of Thrones. Rounding out the top ten is an analysis I did of this popular fantasy series (book and TV) through a feminist lens. Getting my geek analyst on was great fun and resulted in a fascinating bunch of comments.

Again, thanks to all of you for reading and chiming in and letting me know I’m not blogging into a vacuum. Now to dive into year two!

2 responses to “Blogiversary the First, Part Two

  1. I missed your first blogivsary post, so belated congratulations!

  2. Thank you, Ken! And thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

