Happy Blogiversary to Me

First off, apologies for not blogging yesterday. I ran into technical difficulties — the travails of blogging on the road (and, ahem, not prewriting and scheduling posts)….

Second, this is a special week here on the blog. I’ve been “author blogging” for a year tomorrow. (Shout-out to Kristen Lamb and the WANA112 crew, who finally got my butt in gear to start this blog!) It’s been a fun ride as well as a challenge, I’ve met a lot of wonderful people, and I like to think it’s been good for my writing, too.

To celebrate, here’s a recap of the top posts on the blog so far….

  • Defining Steampunk. I wrote this in the first month of the blog’s life, but it’s had enduring popularity. Guess there are a lot of you out there who want to know what steampunk is all about!
  • Book vs. Movie: The Hunger Games. When I saw the film, the book was fresh in my mind, so all the little differences and choices made in each medium really stuck out. I wrote the post because I wanted to think more about those choices…and clearly I wasn’t the only one.

  • If You Liked…A Game of Thrones. Online bookstores will do the “if you liked…” game for you using an algorithm. They’re not bad, but humans (and human word of mouth) are better, at least for now. I had fun matching up different aspects of A Game of Thrones with other books in related genres. I’d like to do more posts in the same vein…any requests?
  • Book Nostalgia: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. This is part of a series in which I revisit books and films I loved as a child, rereading or rewatching them when possible. It’s one of my favourite types of blog posts to write, and obviously a lot of you enjoy reading them too.
  • Book Nostalgia: The Time Quartet by Madeleine L’Engle. The post that kicked off the Nostalgia series, inspired by a recent reread of the four books in L’Engle’s series that existed when I was young. Despite some flaws that came to light upon rereading, I love them dearly, and I’m not the only one.

While the top five posts are all book-related (as befits an author blog!), the next five include some more personal posts that I’m quite proud of. I’ll share those next week (Monday, technology permitting…). Look for another travel post in the next week or two as well.

Over to you, my faithful readers. Which post, or type of post, is your favourite? What would you like to see more/less of on the blog?

Thank you for reading. Here’s to another year of blogging!

10 responses to “Happy Blogiversary to Me

  1. Happy Blogiversary! And what a great way to celebrate…with links to your most popular posts. I’d have to say the Steampunk post was my favorite, followed with a tie between Anne of Green Gables and the Time quartet. But then again, I write for young readers. 😉

  2. Siri – Happy Blogiversary and Happy Travels. I also loved the Anne of Green Gables. Looking forward to more news from afar!

  3. Happy blogiversary!

    I love all posts book-related–but I bet you could already guess that. 😀 I’m also looking forward to the travel posts.

  4. Yay! Happy Blogiversary, Siri! Safe travels.

  5. Congrats on your Blogiversary 🙂

  6. Way to go on a year of blogging, Siri! Book and travel posts are always a favorite with me. Excited to hear more about your travels in Indonesia. 🙂

  7. Catherine Johnson

    Happy Blogiversary! You have a great blogging voice, blog about anything. I’ll have to come back and check out your Anne if Green Gables post:) HAGD!

  8. They’re all great blog topics — I think the most enduring posts tend to be those dealing with universal topics. Not only do they attract attention at the time, but they get hits from Google. (The top posts on my blog are those which get Google traffic, not so much the ones that attracted a lot of hits at the time.) Happy blogiversary!

  9. Thanks for all the great wishes and feedback, guys! Ellen, I’ve noticed the same thing. There’s a reason my posts on steampunk and The Hunger Games are at the top!

  10. *cheers a blogiversary!*

Leave a Reply

