Making Headway on the ROW80 Week 9 Check-In

We’re heading into the final stretch of ROW80! How are all of you fine folks doing?

Writing Updates

Last week, I said I wanted to start putting a little more effort into this blog. In case you missed it, I wrote a travel post about visiting Rajasthan, India — with photos taken by yours truly.

I’m also finally making headway on the novel edit, I think. I had Friday off work and put in a good 2 hours, for a total of 3 hours this week. Not as much as I wanted, but (a) I also had to deal with a furnace issue on Friday and a very full Saturday, and (b) I’m focusing on staying positive and celebrating what I do get done rather than beating myself up for what I don’t do. So…three hours, yay!

Renovation Updates

We’re still sorting out the IKEA snafu, and busy researching ranges and drapes. So nothing visible is happening, but plenty behind the scenes. Which has been true of the novel as well, come to think of it!

At least we’re making good use of the newly finished attic / exercise room…which is really the point of renovating anyway, right?

 

7 responses to “Making Headway on the ROW80 Week 9 Check-In

  1. I totally agree that you have to focus on what you did do. If you focus on that other stuff you’ll drive yourself cracker bats! Keep up all the good work (even if it is behind the scenes).

  2. Thanks, Gloria! That makes me feel better. :-)

  3. Cracker bats *giggles at Gloria’s delightful turn of phrase*

    ahem -

    Siri, I love this. Three hours! While redecorating (or trying to). Having full days and furnace issues.

    Go, you!

    You’re three hours further along than you were! =)

    And way to go on the being nicer to Siri goal. She deserves it!

  4. Aw, thanks, Shan! Clearly I need the reminder. ;)

  5. Pingback: (Winter Storm) VULCAN Play: ROW80 Update, 3/12/14 | shanjeniah

  6. I’ve been pretty down on myself lately for not measuring up to my high expectations re: productivity. Thank you for the reminder that I need to celebrate what gets done. Beating myself up over what I didn’t do just takes energy away from what I could do moving forward.

    And congrats – as Gloria and Shan said – on being 3 hrs further along in your editing! That, to me, is huge.

  7. Sione (beautiful name, by the way!), I think it’s a lesson that some of us need to learn over and over again. Glad my post nudged you at just the right time! And thanks.

Leave a Reply

