Seeking Productivity Tips

Okay, blog readers. I need your best tips.

I recently finished a major project (not a writing project, alas) that was sucking up all my time and energy. That was over two weeks ago. I’ve been reading and relaxing and recovering, which is all fine and good, but I’ve been having a heck of a time getting anything done. It’s sort of like post-NaNo slump, except I don’t feel drained, just unmotivated.

Since a lot of things were put on the back burner, I can’t just continue doing nothing. I need to restart my productivity engines.

One part of the problem is that there are multiple areas in need of attention:

  • My house needs some love.
  • My writing needs some time devoted to it.
  • Lots of administrative tasks need doing.
  • There’s another big non-writing project coming up.

Faced with competing priorities like this, I tend to freeze up and not get any of them done. The project I just finished was nice that way because I could just ignore everything else until it was over…but now it’s over.

So now it’s your turn. What are your best tips for being productive or for getting through a productivity slump?

 

7 responses to “Seeking Productivity Tips

  1. 15 minutes. “Just 15 minutes” has saved me time and again. Also switching tasks. Then everything gets SOME time.

  2. Need to prioritize what you want done. I work 55 hour a week. I watch my grandsons in the day. I work on reading and my writing late in the evening. If you desire something done. Must insure time is put away for it. Late at night my house is quiet and I can think. Time is our most important thing we have. Age taught me this. I hope you success and good luck with time.

  3. I’ve been working at the administrative stuff of writing, too. My writing is chaos, and I’ve struggled with the administrative side. A lot of typical organizational systems don’t work for me. What’s been particularly helpful is the Kaizen Plan for Organized Writers.

    Basically, she suggests taking small steps to changing things. We tend to want to fix it all now, and at least for me, I’ll get overwhelmed and stop. But the most profound thing you can immediately do is don’t give work to your future self. Instead of putting the mail on the table for your future self to deal with, do something with it now.

    Linda Adams – Soldier, Storyteller

  4. Oh I’ve been there more times than I can count! In fact I’m sure I’ve written blog posts on the topic – more than once! It’s always hard getting back into fiction after a break.There’s an activation energy. I find a weekend away with my wip can help overcome a major break. Otherwise, I just force myself to sit down and open the wip. Stare at it. Read over it. Force myself to write a sentence… Or write in a journal about where the story is at.
    As for the other stuff… Housework. Bah!

  5. I have to let myself slump. We’re all different. I’m not someone who can do anything for just 15 minutes. So I prioritize and nibble away at the most important things until they are well enough along the way to liberate me from worrying about them. Then I can dig in and have two or three glorious days of writing which gets me back on track.

  6. I have to give myself some down time after a major project. I pare down my to-do list to essentials or bite-sized chunks. And I make sure to refill my creative well.

  7. Thanks, guys — you all have some great tips here! Linda, I especially like “don’t give work to your future self”. Must remember that!

Leave a Reply

