Weekly Link: Old Spice meets Old English

Remember that Old Spice commercial from a few years ago? To refresh your memory of those abs, here it is again…

Anyway. Here’s what it might have sounded like in Beowulf’s time…

He spoke these words: / “Look upon me.
Now upon yourselves. / Again upon me.
You are not me.” / Deep his voice
Like thunder’s cry / or breath of God.

Read the rest of the poem by Castiron at AO3 (for the uninitiated, that’s the Archive of Our Own, a site for transformative works like fanfiction). (Found via Making Light.)

That’s it for the week. See you on Monday!

2 responses to “Weekly Link: Old Spice meets Old English

  1. When I was a teenager, there was a brief time where I used Old Spice products. Had I know that it bestowed such reality-altering powers upon the user, I’m sure I would’ve kept using it.

    The Old Spice/Beowulf mash-up is great :)

  2. Mike, it was a little-known side effect until that commercial.

Leave a Reply

